Arizona DUI Lawyers
At Thompson & Volquardsen, P.C., our Arizona DUI lawyers understand that facing DUI charges of any kind in the state of Arizona is extremely serious, and requires an equally serious defense. A DUI conviction can threaten your freedom, your reputation, and even your future career prospects. As such, if you have been charged with DUI in Arizona, you need an attorney on your side that is as serious about your defense as you are.
Using our years of experience in the courtroom, our Phoenix DUI attorneys are prepared to provide clients with the kind of tenacious defense that is needed in order to beat an Arizona DUI charge. If you have been charged with driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, or with another offense, don’t hesitate to contact the Arizona DUI lawyers of Thompson & Volquardsen, P.C., today at 602-510-9999.
Arizona DUI Practice Areas
At Thompson & Volquardsen, P.C., our Arizona DUI attorneys have considerable experience defending clients who have been charged with a variety of alcohol-related and criminal offenses, and our attorneys in Phoenix, Chandler, and Scottsdale are prepared to put this experience to work for clients facing charges related to any of the following:
- DUI (Driving Under the Influence)
- OUI (Operating Under the Influence)
- Reckless Driving
- Photo Radar
- Traffic Offenses
- Criminal Charges
Beating any kind of alcohol-related driving charge in Phoenix, Arizona requires extensive knowledge of prosecution tactics and diligent gathering of evidence. At Thompson & Volquardsen, P.C., you’ll find that our Arizona DUI attorneys are experienced at using these and other effective tactics in order to defend our clients’ rights and help them pursue a favorable outcome. For more information on how our Arizona DUI lawyers may be able to defend you, contact our offices today at 602-510-9999.
Types of DUI Charges in Arizona
The state of Arizona has particularly rigorous DUI laws. In fact, there are several different types of DUI charges an individual can receive based on how high their blood-alcohol content was at the time of arrest and any prior DUI convictions on their record. The following is a brief overview of the types of DUI charges that are given in Arizona.
In the state of Arizona, a first-time DUI offense for a driver with a blood-alcohol content between .08% and .15% is considered a regular DUI. The maximum penalty for a DUI conviction is a $1500 fine, 10 days in jail, 90 day license suspension, and probation for up to five years. Additionally, you will be required to install and pay for an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, which requires you to submit to a breathalyzer test before your car will start.
Extreme DUI charges are given to drivers in Arizona with a blood-alcohol content between .15% and .200%. Penalties for an Extreme DUI conviction may include 30 days in jail, fines up to $2,700 not including court and jail costs, required use of an ignition interlock device for 12 months, 90 day license suspension, and up to five years probation.
A charge of Super-Extreme DUI requires at least a .200% blood-alcohol content at the time of the arrest. Penalties for a conviction in the state of Arizona include a minimum of 45 days in jail. In addition, fines and fees can add up to approximately $3,200 which doesn’t include jail costs and court costs. Arizona Super-Extreme DUI convictions also require a minimum 12 month use of an ignition interlock device, 90 days of license suspension, and up to five years probation.
Also called aggravated DUI in Arizona, this charge involves at least one of two violations in addition to having a blood-alcohol content of .08% or higher:
- Having a minor under the age of 15 in the vehicle at the time of arrest – This DUI charge is a class 6 felony in the state of Arizona. There is a wide range of potential penalties for such a conviction, including anywhere from 10 days to 2 years in jail, fines up to $4,600, 10 years of probation, and several years of ignition interlock device usage and license suspension.
- DUI with a suspended license or with at least three prior DUI convictions within the last 7 years — The penalties for either of these Class 4 felonies can be very high in Arizona. Potential consequences include 4 months to 4 years in Arizona jail, thousands of dollars in fines, up to 10 years of probation after release from jail, three years of license suspension, and required use of an ignition interlock device.
In addition to all of these charges, there are even more penalties for subsequent offenses. At Thompson & Volquardsen, P.C., our DUI attorneys in Phoenix, Chandler, and Scottsdale, Arizona understand that the price for any DUI conviction is high. Our Arizona DUI lawyers are committed to helping clients protect their constitutional rights and seek the best outcome possible when they are charged with an alcohol-related driving offense, and we want to put this dedication and our experience to work for you if you are facing DUI charges of any kind. To speak with an DUI lawyer in Phoenix, Arizona about your case, contact us today at 602-510-9999.
License Suspension in Arizona
In the state of Arizona, a person can have their license either suspended or revoked. A revocation of the license means that the state completely takes away your license, while a suspension means your license is taken for a set period of time before being returned. The most common reason for a suspended license in Arizona is a drunk driving charge or conviction.
If you are pulled over and charged with drunk driving in Phoenix, Arizona; it may be wise to not submit to a test which may incriminate you. However, even if you are arrested for drunk driving in Arizona and found not guilty, your license may still be suspended if you refused to submit to a sobriety test. With the help of an Arizona DUI lawyer, however, you may be able to have your license suspension dismissed or reduced.
Some of the other reasons for license suspension that our Phoenix traffic offenses attorneys are prepared to handle include:
- Traffic violations
- Reckless driving
- Being liable for a serious accident
- Illegally using a driver’s license
- Frequent traffic violations
When it comes to DUI license suspension, the time period for minor convictions in Arizona is usually 90 days. However, you may be allowed to use your car to go to and from work for 60 of those 90 days under some circumstances. In order to ensure the best possible outcome in your DUI case, it is essential to have an experienced Phoenix DUI Lawyer. Our Arizona DUI Attorneys have offices in Phoenix, Scottsdale, and Chandler.
Scottsdale and Chandler Criminal Defense Attorneys
The Phoenix, Arizona criminal defense attorneys at Thompson and Volquardsen are prepared to help if you are being charged with a serious criminal offense in the state of Arizona. We are determined to make sure our clients are provided with aggressive defense and knowledgeable representation. Our years of experience help us stand behind our promise to provide your and your loved ones with the greatest chance of settling your case with a ruling in your favor.
Our experienced Phoenix criminal defense lawyers handle all types of criminal offenses including:
Contact one of our experienced Scottsdale criminal defense attorneys to discuss your case. Thompson and Volquardsen has offices conveniently located in Phoenix, Scottsdale, and Chandler, Arizona.
Arizona DUI Attorneys in Phoenix You Can Count On
The firm of Thompson & Volquardsen, P.C., consists of attorneys Woody Thompson, Jay S. Volquardsen, Jim Simpson, and Mark Beller. Our attorneys in Phoenix, Chandler, and Scottsdale, Arizona have decades of combined experience with a wide range of civil and criminal law matters, as well as their successful case record, they have proven themselves as attorneys you can trust with even the most serious DUI and criminal charges in the state of Arizona. The Arizona DUI lawyers of Thompson & Volquardsen, P.C., are proud of their reputation and are ready to put their experience and resources to work on your case.
Contact Us in Any of our Arizona Offices
If you are facing alcohol-related driving charges, criminal charges, or traffic violations, do not hesitate to contact the Arizona DUI attorneys of Thompson & Volquardsen, P.C., today. To learn more about what we may be able to do to help you, or to speak with a dedicated Arizona DUI attorney about your situation, contact us in Phoenix at 602-510-9999, in Scottsdale at 602-327-1179, and in Chandler at 480-203-8977.