Second Offense DUI in Arizona
If you have been arrested for drunk driving and already have a history of at least one DUI conviction, your case could become much more complex. In the state of Arizona, the courts punish repeat DUI offenders much more harshly than those who are receiving their first conviction. That is why it is crucial that you speak with an experienced, dedicated Arizona DUI defense lawyer as soon as possible to start preparing a strong defense. Without a knowledgeable attorney, you could find yourself facing jail time and other serious penalties for a 2nd DUI conviction.
Consequences for a 2nd DUI Conviction
A second arrest for DUI in Arizona is charged as a Class 1 misdemeanor. While this may sound like a relatively minor offense, it can carry steep penalties if you are convicted. The sentencing for a 2nd offense DUI conviction includes:
- 90 days to 6 months in jail
- $500 to $2500 in fines
- Minimum 30 hours community service
- 1 year driver’s license suspension
- Drug or alcohol treatment / education program
- Ignition interlock on your vehicle for 1 year
Preparing Your Legal Defense
Dealing with a DUI charge can not only be frustrating and time-consuming, but it can also have a lasting effect on your life if you are convicted. We at Thompson & Volquardsen are committed to providing the aggressive legal representation that you need to protect your rights and defend your DUI case. We know what it takes to take on the prosecution and will ensure that you remain innocent unless proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt.
To learn more about our legal services and how we can defend you against your 2nd DUI charge, contact the Arizona DUI attorneys of Thompson & Volquardsen, P.C., today at 602-510-9999.